Dark as the Winter Day

I’ve experimented a bit with a darker desktop and theme for the past few months, reflecting the bitter cold and short days of winter here in Nebraska.

Xubuntu dark theme with conky

Xubuntu dark theme with conky

As you can see it’s heavy on the black and blue – white text. It’s very easy on the eyes and makes staring at the computer for an hour or two very bearable. I’ve shied away from darker themes in the past being that they’ve always seemed really misplaced and tacky to me, but this one has left me very impressed.

I’m also very impressed with the new Conky configuration I’ve patched together from other inspiration, along with some weather and Rhythmbox additions. Here’s my .conkyrfc if you want it.

  • Desktop from Digital Blasphemy
  • Conky desktop monitor – .conkyrfc
  • Xfce-dusk user interface
  • Black-White 2 Vista icon theme
    ~ by veniatregnum on December 11, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
