New Pioneers Theme

I had an inkling today to try to make a new theme for Pioneers the cross-platform Settlers of Catan computer game I blogged about a while back.

So after grabbing a few images, some magic with the GIMP, I came up with the following result:

And here’s the files if you’d like to use the same theme or tweak it a bit to your own liking: 4th Edition All you need to do is extract the .zip into your pioneers themes folder (mine on linux was /usr/share/games/pioneers/themes – Windows and Mac will be something similar – i.e. Windows might be something like C:\Program Files\pioneers\themes). Then just select the theme from your Pioneers preferences.

I also grabbed a bunch of other images with plans to theme them as well. So look forward to other 2-3 themes in the future.

~ by veniatregnum on September 27, 2008.

3 Responses to “New Pioneers Theme”

  1. Very cool man. I just started playing Settlers the other day, and since I started I’ve been infatuated with the idea of making my own version, either out of wood, or making a video game of it.
    Thank god, to my surprise, there are a ton of versions of it already. I tried a java based one online, but it failed epicly on my ubuntu machine.
    THen I came across Pioneers.
    What an ugly set of default skins lol — I was looking around trying to find where the hell synaptic saved my game, and came across your post — You have done EXACTLY what I was going to do today.

    THANKS!!!! šŸ˜€

    Tim
    Duluth, MN

    Send me an email if you want to try playing sometime.
    t t i l b e r g a t g m a i l d o t c o m

    THanks man,
    cheers

  2. Ok, so Andrew and I are also Catan junkies…I’d love to play Pioneers, but being a bit computer ignorant, I’m not sure how to go about it. I have a Mac, running OS 10.4.

  3. Not currently having any Mac’s laying around the house… I’m not entirely sure how to get pioneers up and running on one. Apparently it seems as though you need to go through Fink which looks like a package management system. Once Fink is downloaded and set up, you can grab Pioneers through that – again, not really a Mac person so I can’t terribly confirm these steps.

    And on Mac you’ll only get the client software, so you’ll have to connect to someone serving a game in order to play.

Leave a Reply

 
