Mac Mania

I am a mac

(AP Photo/Charles Krupa)

My wife just sent me an email with this link to a photo tour of Boston’s new Mac Store.

A couple of things struck me while perusing the photos. One, the mac craze is overly insane. It’s no secrete that there is a sort of “mac elitism” that is quite prevalent in anyone who owns a powerbook, ipod, or any number of the various mac products, and there is also a certain “mac image” that seems to engulf most mac users. You can even see it’s appearance in the store’s set-up, architecture, uniforms, colors, etc. It’s kind of this crisp, elegant, whiteness that screams, “I’m a mac user enthusiast!”

This along with a subtle little advertisement I’ve noticed mac likes to use, “What iPod are you?” got me thinking. It’s actually quite brilliant advertising and plays on this innate human desire we have to identify with something. The very phrasing of mac’s adversements and its creation of a certain image, molds this environment in which people (who buy their products) will feel accepted and important. “I am an iPod touch!” or “I am the new mac book air!” sounds funny to say aloud but is really the kind of “community” mac creates.

This got me thinking about how easily we see the new and latest craze or something appealing in which we feel we’ll be important if only we can get ourselves some of that and will therefore change our identity to fit what we think we need. I am not my iPod, I am not my computer, I am not any inanimate piece of silicon which eventually, “moth and rust will destroy.” My identity is not in any of those, nor is it in my job, my hobbies, or any number of things which time will change and leave behind. We had a great discussion last week at Bible study about Galatians 3:27 “For as many of you as were baptized into Christ have put on Christ.” What does it mean “to put on Christ?” We then bounced around the idea of clothing and its identifying work in our lives. If clothing has so much of an identifying aspect of our lives, how much more so should our union with Christ be the true and ultimate identifying factor of a Christian?

I like macs, I’m not going to go buy one, but I think they’re great pieces of technology and they continually come out with some great cutting edge products. There is nothing wrong with being a mac elitist either, just please stop identifying yourself with temporary things which are so easily destroyed.  The temporary is for now, identify yourself with that which is eternal.

~ by veniatregnum on May 16, 2008.

3 Responses to “Mac Mania”

  1. Word on the street has it that Mac is offering eternal salvation with a purchase of the hip MacBook Air. 🙂

  2. That’s quite the long-term support package…

  3. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Nils
    .

Leave a Reply

 
