Once, and again

Once Movie Poster

I know I’m way behind the times, but I finally went out and bought the movie Once. The soundtrack has been spinning in my cd player for some time now, but I had yet to see the movie. One word, addicting. All aspects of the movie are very powerful, the music/lyrics, the story, and even the acting. The gritty, hand-held camera perspective make you feel like a part of the unfolding drama and not only an onlooker. The mess surrounding the lives of the protagonists and the loneliness they feel even in the midst of Dublin can be felt in Glen Hansard’s amazing voice as he pelts out songs to a forgone lover. This is one movie I’ll be sure to watch over and over.

* I didn’t get a chance to listen in, but Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova were on NPR’s Fresh Air last night. My wife was able to catch the broadcast and said it was a great interview showcasing some interesting details about the film. Glen Hansard is from the Irish band The Frames and has recently joined with Marketa Irglova to form The Swell Season. I’m listening to some Swell Season right now and it’s on par with their work in the movie. Happy viewing and listening!

~ by veniatregnum on May 2, 2008.

One Response to “Once, and again”

  1. If you go to NPR’s site at http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=90093038&sc=emaf, you can hear the interview again. I saw them in Portland on Monday and posted a review on my blog at http://isorski.blogspot.com/2008/04/concert-review-swell-season.html. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

 
